GLC – 分享中国经验,构建拉美和加勒比地区绿色金融体系

绿色金融,中国经验!

“分享中国经验,构建拉美和加勒比地区绿色金融体系”(GLC)是一项旨在通过对拉美和加勒比地区的国家开发银行(NDB)和金融监管当局等机构提供能力建设,推动该地区绿色金融战略的实施的技术援助项目。

该地区的所有金融机构将有机会学习中国绿色金融领域的成功经验和政策创新,其中包括了监管制度、资本市场、金融工具及风险分担机制等多个方面。


本次的多边合作是在泛美开发银行(IDB)支持下,在拉美和加勒比地区与中国之间展开,几方将在以下两个层面合作:

1) 知识共享GLC 将在中国与拉美和加勒比地区的各开发银行、金融机构、监管机构以及其他利益相关方之间,分享推进绿色金融发展的最佳实践与经验。该项目通过区域性网络(如ALIDE—拉丁美洲开发金融机构协会)进行多种形式的知识分享,从案例研究和成果展示,到组织各国开发银行及监管机构的代表参与促进绿色金融发展的全球活动。


2) 机构能力培养GLC 目前致力于协助阿根廷、厄瓜多尔、墨西哥和乌拉圭四国的国家开发银行制定国家级发展战略,将绿色金融融入当地市场,学习中国经验,并因地制宜地应用到以下领域:

发展并实施绿色金融战略

  • 设计绿色金融的专项工具
  • 识别环境足迹及其影响
  • 建立面向公立银行的环境标准和指标
  • 评估产品开发的融资机遇

  • 开展金融风险管理的压力测试

  • 加强前瞻性风险管理
  • 建立有针对性的环境和社会风险管理体系(ESRM)
  • 设立风险项目压力测试的标准和方法

  • 绿色保险

  • 战略部门的数据分析和风险评估工具的开发
  • 建立有针对性的保险和风险分担机制
  • 建立金融规则和开发金融工具,鼓励市场参与
  •  

    GLC News and Events

    Seminar on Policy Framework for Green Finance in Emerging Economies

    DATE: Nov 6-7, 2018
    The 2nd Global Green Finance Leadership Program

    Webinar | MITIGATING SYSTEMIC RISKS

    DATE: June 12, 2018 | 11:00 a 12:00 p.m. EDT
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with Trucost and RMS, will host the second part of "MITIGATING SYSTEMIC RISKS: Mechanisms for evaluating climate change risks”.

    From Zero to Hero | Webinar

    DATE: June 5, 2018 | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with the Climate Bonds Initiative (CBI), will host the webinar "From Zero to Hero: Lessons and Experiences from the Growth of the Chinese Green Bond Market”.

    Global Green Finance Leadership Program

    DATE: 21-26 May 2018
    The Global Green Finance Leadership Program, as part of the 2018 Tsinghua PBCSF Global Finance Forum, provides a platform for knowledge sharing
    on best practices of, and inspiring innovations for, scaling up green finance.

    Pioneering Approaches to ESRM

    DATE: April 18, 2018
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with Boston University Global Policy Development Center, co-organized the Brown Bag Lunch (BBL).

     
     
     

    全球合作

    2018年5月, 来自亚洲、非洲及拉丁美洲35个国家的120名政策制定者、金融监管机构及金融从业者参加了在北京召开的全球绿色金融领导力国际研讨会(GFLP)。大会成立了9个工作组,就绿色经济的可能性,创新型金融与政策工具等主题展开深入探讨,清华大学金融与发展研究中心担任了工作组的秘书机构,泛美开发银行(IDB)与其他金融机构一起,参与了绿色金融分类、绿色中小企业融资、绿色农业融资、绿色金融科技、绿色基础设施建设、绿色金融激励等六个工作组的相关工作。

     
     

    为何成立GLC?


    中国绿色金融工作组 是2014 年由中国人民银行研究局发起的官方组织,它成功推动了中国绿色金融市场的发展。根据该组织发布的 《构建中国绿色金融体系》报告,从国家绿色债券标准,到新绿色基金和补贴计划,再到绿色保险机制的建立,中国正进行一系列的金融改革,这些改革带来了一个蓬勃发展的绿色金融市场,其绿色债券发行量在2016年超过全球总量的三分之一。


    与此同时,拉丁美洲国家尽管“绿色”投资的机会巨大,却面临着绿色金融战略缺失的问题。目前,这些国家的资本市场监管体系因缺乏深度和成熟度,难以吸引私人投资和促进绿色金融的规模化。但如同中国一样,拉美和加勒比地区的金融市场监管机构和国家开发银行有着得天独厚的优势,能够促进地方金融机构(LFI)和私人投资者的参与,将金融与国家优先发展项目结合,以及开辟国际气候融资以促进和扩大投资。对于谋求进一步发展和整合其绿色金融战略的该地区的监管机构和国家开发银行而言,中国在构建绿色金融框架和机制方面的经验具有重要价值。



    项目地图
     


    构建有活力的绿色金融市场,需要克服以下障碍:




    ■ 具有充分条款的投资信贷不足
    ■ 缺乏绿色项目风险及收益的相关知识
    ■ 缺乏绿色项目推广、分析、架构及融资方面的相关经验
    ■ 长期贷款不足,以及投资于回报期较长的绿色项目带来的挑战
    ■ 认为绿色项目是非“传统商业”投资的观念
    ■ 当地能源技术或服务提供商缺乏融资能力
     
     

    谁在支持GLC?

    泛美开发银行(IDB),协同来自机构能力建设专项基金(ICS)的资金支持,正与包括金融和发展中心、清华大学国家金融研究院、波士顿大学在内的各大机构,以及各主要“绿色”利益相关方携手合作,积极开发各种知识共享模式,以促进与拉美和加勒比地区的监管机构和金融机构的经验交流。
    对于采用不同合作模式促进绿色金融发展的各项机会和收益的研究,目前正在与波士顿大学合作进行。
     

    GLC 在哪些区域实施?

    GLC目前支持中国与拉美和加勒比地区进行开放性的知识交流和经验分享,开展各类网络研讨会和学术研究,向拉美和加勒比地区国家分享其适用的中国经验,并将这些内容同步向公众开放。

    此外,GLC对于阿根廷、墨西哥、厄瓜多尔和乌拉圭四个国家开发银行的绿色金融战略做出重点支持,包括开展一系列的活动、研讨会以及在这四个国家的首都及北京举行双边会议等。

    该项目支持 阿根廷投资与外贸银行(BICE) ,BICE 是该国家一级和二级开发银行,通过发行绿色债券和可持续债券在当地及国际资本市场筹措具有充足期限的私人资金。BICE将获得必要的技术和推广支持:(1)构建由潜在绿色贷款组合支持的绿色债券的首次发行;(2)接受由第二方独立进行的必要审查,以及基于指定准则和/或标准的合规性审查;(3)新债券市场推广;(4)向希望获得技术和体系支持的其他国家开发银行及公共和私人利益相关方传播和分享这些成功经验,以构建国家或国际市场范围内的可持续债券的首次发行体系。

    作为项目初始阶段的一部分,美洲开发银行(IDB)协助BICE就其绿色及社会金融贷款组合,及其产生的积极的社会和环境影响进行制度性诊断和筛查,以得到一组易于通过可持续的债券发行而证券化的贷款子组合,并协助用于促进绿色债券的第二方审核和认证的债券体系的准备工作。该工作将基于 绿色债券准则以及 气候债券标准展开。

    GLC将协助墨西哥国家进出口银行 (BANCOMEXT)开展绿色银行活动。BANCOMEXT作为该国家主要的一级银行,其使命是为国家发展、创造就业、吸引外资和基础设施建设作出贡献。该银行致力于帮助墨西哥企业提升效益和竞争力,并将绿色金融作为当地发展现代化经济的机遇。

    BANCOMEXT希望各类私有和公共领域的践行者能够全程参与到这一进程中,并特别关注对以下几个领域的潜在影响:

    • 可再生能源及其相关传输和储存基础设施的建设。
    • 传统及海外市场绿色债券的发行。
    • 中国等新兴市场的出口信贷担保
    • 在墨西哥、拉丁美洲及中国开展的线上或线下区域性知识共享活动

    该项目协助厄瓜多尔国家开发银行(BDE) 确立关于绿色金融的商业模式战略,并帮助识别BDE可开展的绿色金融相关的机遇。这些成果将作为《2016-2018 BDE制度性战略计划》的补充,目的是实现有助于区域性平等的金融资源和产品的多样化。

    GLC将协助DBE寻求国家和国际资金用以开展地方层面的减缓和适应气候变化的举措。BDE将会在新的商业模式的指导下填补厄瓜多尔在这一领域的市场缺口。

    这些努力不仅涉及一些理论性工作,还需要BDE工作人员的积极参与和投入,以确保所有新举措在银行内可行性和可操作性。

    该项目协助 乌拉圭共和国银行(BROU) 在确定机遇及行动支柱的基础上构建起一个绿色金融商业模式。该项目的一个主要目标是将BROU确立为该国家及地区发展可持续金融的主要践行机构。项目还将覆盖BROU投资组合内的环境及社会风险管理。简而言之,项目旨在帮助BROU建立其“绿色战略”。 该项目的初始路线图已经确立,包含各类明确而具体的目标。接下来的几个月,GLC 和BROU将就以下主题展开合作:

    - 将BROU建设成为支持可持续性发展的银行

    - 识别机遇,提升效率

    • 分析及识别高风险区域及领域
    • 探索开发高额度、低风险的金融产品

    -推进BROU环境和社会风险管理系统(ESRM)以识别和减少信贷活动中的此类风险

    • 记录当前分析过程中的实践活动及方法
    • 制定环境和社会风险手册,用以建立能够支持整体政策目标的运行逻辑

    学习资源

     
     
    简体中文
    X

GLC Building Green Finance Instruments and Systems in LAC from the experience of China

Learn about green finance in China!

The technical assistance program Building Green Finance Instruments and Systems in LAC from the experience of China (GLC) seeks to promote green finance strategies by fostering the institutional capacity building of national development banks (NDBs) and financial market regulators in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC).

Institutions throughout the region will have the opportunity to learn about successful methodologies and policies implemented in China, which resulted in the development of local financial systems, including regulation, capital markets, financial instrumentation and risk sharing mechanisms for green finance.

This triangular collaboration between LAC countries and China with support by the IDB, works on two levels:

I) Knowledge SharingGLC shares best practices and experiences in promoting green finance among Chinese and LAC NDBs, financial institutions, regulators, and other relevant stakeholders. The project uses regional networks (e.g. ALIDE - Latin American Association of Development Financing Institutions) to share knowledge in a variety of forms, from analytical studies and virtual presentations to the organization of global events that bring together representatives from LAC and Chinese NDBs and regulatory bodies to foster the development of green finance.

II) Institutional Capacity BuildingGLC currently supports four NDBs in Argentina, Ecuador, Mexico, and Uruguay in developing country-driven strategies to integrate green finance into their local markets, learning from and, where appropriate, adapting the experiences of Chinese institutions in one of the following areas:

Development and implementation of green financing strategies

  • design dedicated green financial instruments
  • identify environmental footprint and impact
  • develop environmental criteria and indicators for public banks
  • assess finance opportunities for product development
  • Stress testing in financial risk management

  • promote forward-looking risk management
  • develop tailored ESRM systems
  • develop criteria and methodologies for stress testing risky projects
  • Green insurance

  • collect data and develop risk assessment tools for strategic sectors
  • develop tailored insurance and risk sharing mechanisms
  • develop regulations and instruments to encourage market participation
  •  

    GLC News and Events

    Seminar on Policy Framework for Green Finance in Emerging Economies

    DATE: 6-7 Nov 2018
    The 2nd Global Green Finance Leadership Program

    Webinar | MITIGATING SYSTEMIC RISKS

    DATE: June 12, 2018 | 11:00 a 12:00 p.m. EDT
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with Trucost and RMS, will host the second part of "MITIGATING SYSTEMIC RISKS: Mechanisms for evaluating climate change risks”.

    From Zero to Hero | Webinar

    DATE: June 5, 2018 | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with the Climate Bonds Initiative (CBI), will host the webinar "From Zero to Hero: Lessons and Experiences from the Growth of the Chinese Green Bond Market”.

    Global Green Finance Leadership Program

    DATE: 21-26 May 2018
    The Global Green Finance Leadership Program, as part of the 2018 Tsinghua PBCSF Global Finance Forum, provides a platform for knowledge sharing
    on best practices of, and inspiring innovations for, scaling up green finance.

    Pioneering Approaches to ESRM

    DATE: April 18, 2018
    The Inter-American Development Bank, in collaboration with Boston University Global Policy Development Center, co-organized the Brown Bag Lunch (BBL).

     
     
     

    Global Collaboration

    In May of 2018, 120 policy makers, financial regulators, and practitioners from over 35 countries in Asia, Africa, and Latin America met for the Global Green Finance Leadership Program (GFLP) in Beijing and formed nine working groups to continue discussing possibilities for greener economies and to debate innovative financing and policy tools. The Center for Finance and Development at Tsinghua University will serve as the secretariat of the groups. IDB participates alongside other institutions in six working groups on green finance taxonomy, financing green SMEs, financing green agriculture, fintech for green finance, green infrastructure pipelines, and incentives for green finance.

     
     

    Why GLC?

    The Chinese Green Finance Task Force is a government initiative that was convened in 2014 by the Research Bureau of the People’s Bank of China and has been successful in stimulating the growth of a green financial market in China. Through its report “Establishing China’s Green Financial System”, a variety of reforms are being implemented, from national green bond standards to new green funds and subsidy programs to the development of green insurance mechanisms. The result is a booming green finance market that issued more than one-third of green bonds globally in 2016.

    Meanwhile, Latin American countries face a lack of integrated green financing strategies despite immense opportunities for “green” investments. These countries’ capital market regulatory frameworks currently lack the depth and sophistication to encourage private investment and implement green finance at scale. As is the case in China, though, financial market regulators and NDBs in LAC are in a unique position to engage local financial institutions (LFIs) and private investors, align development financing with national priorities, and canalize international climate funding to promote and scale up investments. The Chinese experience in developing green finance frameworks and mechanisms can therefore prove valuable for NDBs and regulators in LAC who are seeking to develop and integrate new green finance strategies in their countries.

     


    Overcoming barriers to a dynamic green finance market, such as:




    ■ Limited availability of investment credit at adequate terms and conditions.
    ■ Lack of knowledge of the risks and returns of green projects.
    ■ Little experience in marketing, analyzing, structuring and financing green projects.
    ■ Lack of of long-term loans and challenge to fund green projects with long pay back periods.
    ■ Perception that green projects are not “business as usual” investments.
    ■ Lack of financial capacity of local energy technology or service providers.
     
     

    Who is Supporting GLC?

    The Inter-American Development Bank with funding from the Institutional Capacity Strengthening Thematic Fund (ICS) is actively collaborating with several institutions including the Center for Finance and Development, Tsinghua National Institute of Financial Research and Boston University, and a variety of other key ‘green’ stakeholders to develop knowledge-sharing formats for an exchange of ideas with LAC regulators and financial institutions.
    Research on the possibilities and benefits of different collaboration models to scale-up green finance is being conducted in partnership with Boston University.
     

    Where is GLC Being Implemented?

    GLCis supporting the open exchange of knowledge and experiences between China and the LAC region. A variety of webinars and academic studies are geared at adapting the lessons learned in China to countries in the region and are also being made available to the public at large.

    Furthermore, GLC is specifically focused on supporting the development of national green finance strategies in four national development banks in Argentina, Mexico, Ecuador, and Uruguay. This includes a series of events, workshops, and bilateral meetings in the region’s capitals and in Beijing.

    This project supports Banco de Inversión y Comercio Exterior (BICE), a first- and second-tier Development Bank in Argentina, in their efforts to raise private funds at adequate maturities in local and international capital markets through the issuance of green and sustainable bonds. BICE will receive technical and promotional assistance required to:

    • structure their first green bond issue backed by potential green loan portfolios
    • receive the necessary second party independent review and verification of adherence with the chosen set of principles and/or standard
    • market those new securities
    • disseminate the results of these experiences and share the lessons learned and best practices among other National Development Banks and relevant public and private stakeholders in the region which have expressed interest in getting technical and logistical support, in order to structure a first sustainable bond issue to be placed in the national or international markets

    As part of the initial stage of this process, IDB supports the institutional diagnostic and screening of BICE’s green and social loan portfolio and its positive environmental and social impacts, in order to determine a set of loan sub-portfolios susceptible to be securitized through sustainable bond issuances and to support the preparation of a sustainable bond framework in order to facilitate the green bond second party review and certification. The work shall be based on the Green Bond Principles and on the Climate Bonds Standards.

    GLC will work together with Mexico’s Banco Nacional de Comercio Exterior S.N.C. (BANCOMEXT) to support its green banking activities. BANCOMEXT is mainly a first-tier bank, with the mission to contribute to development, generation of employment, foreign investment, and infrastructure in Mexico. The bank works to support Mexican businesses in growing their productivity and competitiveness and is looking at green finance as an opportunity to modernize the local economy.

    BANCOMEXT wants to involve a variety of private and public actors throughout this process and is particularly interested in the potential impact of:

    • Renewable energy and its related transmission and storage infrastructure.
    • Green bonds in traditional and exotic markets.
    • Export credit guarantees from new markets like China.
    • Intraregional knowledge sharing, both virtually and through events in Mexico, Latin America, and China.

    This project supports Ecuador’s national development bank, Banco de Desarrollo de Ecuador B.P (BDE) in defining a business model strategy around green finance and identifying opportunities for action that BDE can implement. These results will complement BDE’s strategic institutional plan for 2016-2018, which aims to diversify its financial sources and products which seek to promote equity across different regions.

    GLC will support the bank to channel national and international funds to climate change mitigation and adaptation initiatives at the subnational level. The new business model will guide BDE’s outreach to address market gaps in this area in Ecuador.

    These efforts will involve not only conceptual work but also the active engagement and involvement of bank staff to ensure that all new initiatives are feasible and operable within the bank.

    This project supports Banco De La Republica Oriental (BROU), in their efforts to design a green financing business model for the Institution, based on the identification of areas of opportunity and action pillars. One of the main objectives of the project is to identify BROU as one of the main actors in the country and region for the support of sustainable finance. The project will also cover the management of environmental and social risks within BROU portfolio. In short, the project aims to support BROU in the design of a “green strategy”.

    An initial roadmap has already been developed with a variety of defined objectives. In the coming months, GLC and BROU will collaborate on the following topics:

    - Establishing BROU as a pro-sustainability bank

    - Identifying opportunities for efficiency improvements

    • Analyzing and identifying high-risk areas and sectors
    • Exploring the development of financial products that mitigate risks while allowing increased lending

    - Advancing BROU’s Environmental and Social Risk Management System (ESRM) to identify and mitigate these risks in credit activities

    • Document current practices and approaches in the analysis process
    • Develop a manual for environmental and social risks to elaborate an operational logic that supports overall policy goalsLearning Resources

    LEARNING RESOURCES

     
     
    English
    X